Gaborone United win Mascom top 8

Gaborone United win Mascom top 8
Gaborone United players celebrate victory during the 2015 Mascom Top 8 Final match between Township Rollers and Gaborone United at the National Stadium, Gaborone on the 18 April 2015 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

Saturday Apr 18, 2015. 23:27

Gaborone United are the 2014/15 season Mascom top 8 winners.

The Money Machine lived up to expectations and their name sake when they beat city rivals Township Rollers 2-1 on Saturday night.

Tactically, united mentor, Rahman Gumbo looked the better of the two gaffers - he was quick to even make a tactical substitution in the first half as he pulled off striker Matthews Nyamadzao and replaced him with an attacking midfielder, Mirror Simanyana.

In the second half Rollers were the first to draw blood with Kobamelo Kebaikanye scoring the first goal of the game and his fourth goal of the tournament.

United were quick to equalise with a former Rollers player Simanyana who had come in as a substitute.

Gumbo replaced Mpho Kgaswane with Kgololo Kgogobi whose pace immediately made impact as he was fouled in the 18-yard box which saw referee Lekgotla Johannes rightly pointed to the spot.

Benson Shilongo stepped up and sent Noah Maposa the wrong way to convert easily from the penalty.

Rollers substitutions of Kebaikanye for Jerome Ramatlhakwane and Dirang Moloi for Maano Ditshupo didn’t work and so did Manqoba Ngwenya coming in for Sekhana Koko.

United killed it off by introducing another pacey striker, Ronald Chikomo for Shilongo in a last minute substitution.

United financier Nick Zakhem told that he was confident his charges would deliver.

“We had a very friendly chat with the boys. They were more relaxed and we prepared very well. We discussed the game and even Ofentse Nato told me he won a trophy in India and he was just here to deliver one to United,” Zakhem said.

Facebook Comments

Site Comments

Sign in with: