BDF XI Black Forest Extension Gunners Gaborone United Gilport Lions Jwaneng Galaxy FC Miscellaneous SC Mochudi Centre Chiefs Orapa United Police XI Sankoyo Bush Bucks Security Systems FC Sharps Shooting Stars Tafic FC Township Rollers Uniao Flamengo

Township Rollers’ BPL title trivia

Township Rollers’ BPL title trivia
Township Rollers celebrate winning the league

Friday May 25, 2018. 16:00

Township Rollers clinched the 2017/18 BTC Premiership title after beating Extension Gunners 2-0 at the National Stadium on Wednesday.

The Blues beat runners-up Jwaneng Galaxy to the most coveted trophy in the country - their third successive league title.

Rollers also extended their record to 15 Botswana Premier League (BPL) titles since the club was established in 1961.

The Gaborone-based giants have now been BPL champions in years ending in every single digit number.

A club statement read: “2018 is the first year Township Rollers have won the national league in a year that ends with the number eight.”

“Now Popa have been national champions in years ending in every single digit number, that is one (2011), two (1982), three (1983), four (1984, 2014), five (1985, 1995, 2005), six (2016), seven (1987, 2017) eight (2018) nine (1979) and zero (1980, 2010).”

“The Blues now have a record 15 league titles from those years.”

Facebook Comments

Site Comments

Sign in with: